Black and White

We tend to think of wildlife images as being full colour, but as I was looking at this image of a butterfly after I had loaded it onto my computer I thought that perhaps there was another way of seeing the image.

Not wanting to deny in any way the beauty of the butterfly, I do feel that the conversion into black and white does add another dimension to the picture. Somehow it helps us to concentrate on the textures and the shapes it contains, elements that can sometimes be lost behind that blaze of colour. So maybe this is where Art and Nature meet, without either one denying the value of the other.

Controversial? Not me!

Leave a Reply

