Flower Time

I’m not usually a flower photographer, but I spotted these yellow flowers – somebody will know what they are called – and was taken in by their brilliant colour and the texture of that central dome. ( You can see how much I know about flowers! ) Anyway, this was a tripod shot with the ISO racked up to 1000 on my D800 to give me an aperture of 1/50sec and an aperture of f/4.8 – I was looking for that ultra narrow depth of field, the near and distant petals being thrown out of focus.
I was using a 105mm lens with a 1.4 tele-converter, a combination I had been experimenting with when I saw the flowers, and this is the whole frame, no cropping – just a slight tweak in Photoshop on the contrast and exposure.

Leave a Reply

